Random Update….Cancer still sucks!

Hey everyone!  I know it has been a while since I posted an update.  It has been a pretty tough go for the past month.  At my last post, I still had about two weeks to go in radiation.  Everything I was told about the last two weeks was pretty accurate.  It was awful.  The sores in my mouth and the pain from my prosthetic really took a toll on me, not to mention my energy level was the lowest its ever been.  For the last week, I was not even able to drive to work.  I managed to work from home for 4-5 hours a day, but I was sleeping about 12 hours a day.  The good news is, I finished it!

These technicians, were awesome!  Every day, for 6 1/2 weeks, they greeted me with a smile and a handshake and and upbeat positive attitude.  They really helped me to keep a positive outlook on things through all this. I am so grateful for the good work they do.

Having said that, I hope I never see them again!  It was so great to ring that bell, and know that, for now at least, it was over and that every day forward, I had the possibility of feeling a little better instead of feeling a little worse. So it’s been a couple of weeks now since I’ve finished treatments, and I’m finally starting to feel better.

This week, I have been able to get back to work in the plant for 5-6 hours a day.  I have been able to get out and walk for a mile and a half most evenings with my lovely wife Tania. A week ago, I got re-fitted for my dental prosthetic, which made a huge difference in my comfort level while talking and eating.

I have been able to eat a little better this week as well.  I have lost a total of 42 lbs, and to be honest, I probably needed to lose half of that, so that’s one positive thing.  I saw a guy at work that I haven’t seen in a while.  He didn’t know about the cancer, and he said “Kit, you’ve lost some weight, you look great!”. I laughed, thanked him, and told him not to try my diet plan!

So now, I am finally starting to feel human again.  There are still days when I feel lousy (usually from overdoing it).  There are still days when I miss how easy it used to be to eat or drink, or just chew gum.  It still sucks, and it is frustrating that I have to cut my food (even sandwiches) into tiny children’s size bites to eat, and it takes me forever to eat a small meal.  If I’m not careful, drinks still come out of my nose, but I am told with time, those things will sort themselves out.  Mostly though, I miss running.

I miss the time out on my feet.  I miss the leg burn.  I miss the trails.  I miss the feeling afterward of accomplishing a goal, and the endorphin rush. I really miss it! I’m hoping within the next couple of weeks, I will be able to start back again.  I’m planning to follow the Maffetone method to get ready for the Savannah Rails to Trails 50K on January 9th.  I’m registered, and hoping in 27 weeks, I can get ready in time for it!  I’ll keep you guy updated as I move forward.

Thanks again for all of your support!  Until next time…

Relentless. Forward. Progress.

kp

2 thoughts on “Random Update….Cancer still sucks!

Leave a Reply

