Radiation Treatments (End of Week 4)

Another week down, and it was another doosey!  Lots of stuff going on at home and work. To be honest, I am struggling to stay on top of it all.

Thankfully the infection in my mouth is, for the most part, healed up. However, it has been replaced by several sores on my tongue and cheek. They are painful, but nothing like the thrush infection I had. At least with the sores, I can numb them with lidocaine so I can eat without too much pain. I am still having to eat soft foods, and I have to eat fairly quickly because the numbing effect only lasts for 10 minutes or so. 

Even though I can’t taste anything due to the lidocaine, I’ve been able to get some calories down and that what I need to focus on for now. I was a bit shocked when I went to my weekly checkup with my Oncologist on Friday to find I am still loosing weight. Right now, I am down 39 lbs from where I was before the surgery on March 3rd. This is not a diet plan I would recommend to anyone!

Having said all that, the real issue I have been battling is fatigue. When my treatments started, I really thought I was going to be able to run through them to the end. I know others have done it, and considering how well I did recovering from my surgery, I expected to exceed the doctor’s expectations with this as well. On the contrary, these treatments have knocked me on my butt! I haven’t been able to run for the past couple of weeks and have only managed a few walks. My one act of defiance is that I take the stairs (up & down) in the parking deck when I go to my treatments. I normally park on the 5th or 6th level. It may be silly but it’s just my way of giving cancer the middle finger every day. 

This week also had some good points as well. I am very grateful that my sister Kim Cook was able to come down from North Georgia to stay for much of the week. It was so good to see her (and my niece, Joy). She was also a huge help taking care of meals and shuttling kids around, not to mention driving me to my treatments. It was great to catch up with my sister, and she helped me get some much needed rest as well.

So, here’s to another week down. Only two more full weeks, plus two days to go! Thanks again for all the support, encouragement and prayers. I can’t put into words how much they mean to me and my family. Until next time…

Relentless. Forward. Progress. 

kp

Leave a Reply

