Radiation Treatments (End of Week 3)

Hey everyone!  I’ve been a bit “radio silent” this week.  It’s been a rough one…the hardest yet, but at least week three is in the bag!

Over last weekend, I came down with a bad case of thrush.  By the time I got to the doctor, it was really bad, which led to two days of not eating, drinking or sleeping.  Thankfully, things are getting better, but I still can only eat if I use lidocaine to numb my mouth, which means I can’t taste anything. Given the fact that I’m down 36 lbs at the moment, I’m doing whatever I can to get some healthy calories down.

One of the places that I have drawn a good bit of motivation from through all this is my friendship with Doug Emerine.  Doug started working as Supply Chain Leader at our plant about 5 years ago, and over the years he has become a good friend.  For the past 3 1/2 years, Doug has been fighting his own battle with cancer.  Through several rounds of chemo and radiation, Doug defied the odds and stretched his 1-5 months diagnosis further and further.  He was incredibly encouraging to me when I got my diagnosis and spent a good bit of time preparing me for what to expect from the radiation treatments.  Even after I started my treatments and his health took a turn for the worse, he always asked how I was doing first whenever we saw each other.

I found out Sunday afternoon that Doug had passed away from complications due to pneumonia he had been fighting.  I had just seen him two days before, and he was not doing well, but when I spoke to him on the phone the next day, he said he was feeling better and talking about getting to go home in a few days.  I was not expecting it to be so soon, and it really shook me a bit.  After a good bit of reflection this week, I think I’ve come to peace about it.  Doug, I love you my friend.  I’m fighting this fight for both of us now.

Relentless. Forward. Progress.

kp

One thought on “Radiation Treatments (End of Week 3)

Leave a Reply

