Long Week, Getting Ready

Wow.  This has been a pretty hectic week for me!  It was my first week back to full days at work, had a couple of doctor appointments, my wife and two of our kids have been pretty sick with respiratory infections, I’m gearing up for starting radiation treatments next week, and my wife has surgery to help reduce her migraines on the 24th!  With all that going on, it has been tough to fit in any running, but I did manage to get a couple in this week, one on Monday with my son Christian and one today with my daughter Michaela (I may even manage to get another in tomorrow…we’ll see).

So in prep for my radiation,  I have been doing a good bit of research and it seems to come down to common sense.  Eat well, stay active and get plenty of sleep.  I’ve got the staying active pretty well dialed in…running or walking 4-5 days per week (for the most part).  Sleeping is a challenge only because there’s so much to be done.  It is hard to get to bed by 9, but I have to in order to get 8 hours of sleep.  Eating well is the part I am really trying to up my game on.

For the better part of the last 5 years, we have been eating relatively healthy.  We mostly eat whole foods, basically only the items you find along the walls of the grocery store, with a few exceptions in moderation. Since learning that I have cancer, I have been toying with the idea of going vegan.  I have read a lot of info and only see benefits from doing so from a heath perspective.  I realize, it will be more work, and possibly more expensive, but the health benefits especially against caner is undeniable and important to me, so I am starting here with The Forks Over Knives Plan.

Hopefully, the family will be on board with it.  I eat meatless meals a few times a week already, and they are good with that.  If not, many of theses meals can be paired with a piece of grilled fish or chicken from time to time.  For me, the only thing I am worried about is giving up eggs and cheese.  I eat omelets at least twice a week.  It is one of my favorite post morning run meals.  At this point, I am not even sure that I will go 100% vegan, but I expect to be at 90% or better.  In addition to the FOK plan, I have also pre-ordered Rich Roll’s new book “The Plant Power Way“. I am hoping that these two books will help jump start my move to removing animal based protein from my diet.

I realize that there is an entire other side to the vegan diet that has nothing to do with our health, but the deplorable conditions that most meat consumed in the US is raised in.  I personally don’t have an issue with using animals for food, but for the most part, the beef, pork, poultry & dairy industries have crossed a moral line for the sake of efficiency and profits.  Economically, it is also a very costly use of land and water resources to raise livestock instead of growing food for consumption. So, I my mind at least, there are a lot of good reasons to make this change, and darn few reasons not to, so I’m going for it.

So let’s hear it!  I already subscribe to Thug Kitchen.  Any other Vegetarian/Vegan resources out there that you guys recommend?  Blow up the comments!

Until next time.

kp – Relentless. Forward. Progress.

2 thoughts on “Long Week, Getting Ready

  1. I went vegan for ethical reasons, but then switched to a whole-food, plant-based diet (yes, they can be two completely different diets!) for the health benefits. I hope you like Forks Over Knives (the app is great too!), and I’d also recommend the Engine 2 Diet (engine2diet.com), the Starch Solution (drmcdougall.com), and Happy Herbivore (happyherbivore.com), Oh, and check out PCRM.org for the 21-day vegan kickstart – if you register (free) there are great recipes inside 🙂

Leave a Reply

