Who’s Awesome?

Originally posted on Facebook March 12, 2015


Ok, so we all know that Facebook often (and deservedly) gets a bad rap for the huge waste of time it can be as well as all the negative stuff that is perpetuated here. Click bait, polarizing posts, trolls, stupid game request, and cat videos…OMG the cat videos! Yeah it’s all here, and more.

But, if you are willing to navigate all that, it still holds the potential for something magical. Through the last few weeks, I have been overwhelmed by the outpouring of support I have received through social media, predominately FB, for this difficult path I am traveling. I cannot put into words how much it has meant to me (and my family), to know that we are not walking through this alone. I am just blown away by how great it has been to get encouragement from family, old high school and college friends, along with newer friends that I have gotten to know through the run.net community (Slow Runners Club, Lowcountry Ultras, Moore On Running, Trail Runner Nation, etc…). On more than one occasion, I have been brought to tears by some of the incredibly kind words expressed here.

In turn, it has given me the opportunity to take these experiences and offer encouragement to others that are going through similar and even more difficult situations, a sort of “paying it forward” if you will.

I am humbled and honored to be part of such a great cross section of humanity, and to be considered a friend by each of you. Keep being awesome!

PS: Meeting with the doctor this afternoon to get the pathology report for the tumor. Will keep you all updated. – kp

Leave a Reply

