The Vertical Self

and I will give him a white stone, and on the stone a new name written which no one knows except him who receives it.  (Revelation 2:17)

I just finished reading “The Vertical Self” by Mark Sayers, founder of über, and Senior Leader of Red Church in Melbourne, Australia.  I really enjoyed this book.  Mark explores the phenomenon of how modern culture has changed the way our identity is defined.

Today, rather than a vertical view of self, gaining our identity from God, people tend to have a to a horizontal view of self, gaining our identity from society.

This book is very well written, and contains some incredibly insightful observations about culture (both current and historical), and how this view of self has even invaded the mindset of many churches and Christians.  In addition, Mark offers some practical ways that we can redirect our view of self back to a vertical posture, looking to God to give us our true name.

This book is a great read, and I highly recommend it!

I review for BookSneeze
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
One thought on “The Vertical Self

  1. Hi Kit – just checking out your blog. You’ve got a great family! I’ve got four kids too, just a little on behind yours as far as age goes. Anyway, thanks for the book recommendation here. I’m definitely picking it up.

Leave a Reply

