Seacoast Worship Recap (03/06/10)

Even though I normally attend church on Saturday night, this worship re-cap is part of the Sunday Setlist Blog Carnival Extravaganza going on over at TheWorshipCommunity.com.  Check out the other worship service re-caps from this week by clicking here.

Call to Worship / Opening Set:

  1. Everlasting God – Brenton Brown
  2. You Deserve – Matt Crocker

Message:

This weekend, Pastor Greg continued the series entitled “Compelled”.  He spoke on learning to balance the real and the ideal.  If you’re interested, you can get the notes from YouVersion.com here.  Also, you can download the audio message from iTunes here or watch the video here (it may be Monday or Tuesday before it is available).

Closing Set:

  1. Take My Life – Chris Tomlin
  2. Mighty to Save – B. Fielding/R. Morgan
  3. My Savior Lives – G. Packiam/J. Egan

On a side note, I took the kids to 5Guys for dinner before church tonight, and picked up an assorted dozen from Cupcake for afterwards.  I will pay for that later, but it was worth it!  My 11 year old son got to pick the music for the 30 minute ride home…Flyleaf’s “I’m So Sick” at about 80% volume.  My ears are still ringing.  😉

Well, that’s how things went at Seacoast Church this weekend.  How was your worship service?

2 thoughts on “Seacoast Worship Recap (03/06/10)

  1. Kit, great songs. Do you normally split your worship set like you did in this service, with the message in the middle? I’m interested in your thoughts on that and how it goes. Thanks for sharing!

    • Harold, thanks for the comment. This is the standard format at our church (Seacoast Church). Generally, a couple of upbeat (read – rockin’) songs as a call to worship, then a few announcements, the message, followed by worship/response time and communion.

      We are a multi-site church, and also have multiple services on Sunday (currently four). This format works really well with the need to stay on a tight time schedule, and still allows for some meaningful ministry time at the end of each service.

      Initially, I thought this would sacrifice much of the intimacy of a longer traditional worship set. However, what I have found is that I had through habit, conditioned myself to take 30-45 minutes of singing to “get into” worship mode. Now, without that luxury, I have learned to “jump in” a little quicker. 😉

      Don’t get me wrong. I do enjoy extended times of corporate worship, but those are still available in small groups and I still have my personal worship time as well. One of the things I love the most about Seacoast is their continual focus on worship as a lifestyle outside of the four walls of the church building, rather than an event that occurs inside.

      Also, just for clarification, I am not currently leading worship at Seacoast Church. I’ve been involved in worship (mostly as a worship leader) for about 18 years, but since moving here a little over a year ago, I’ve been on a bit of a sabbatical.

      This answer is probably more than you bargained for, but I tend to do that. Thanks again for your comment!

      kp

Leave a Reply

