Friday Fitness Recap

Welcome to the 8th installment of my fitness recap!  Thanks for stopping by!

This week I tried intermittent fasting for the first time.  In case you didn’t catch last week’s post, this is not a spiritual fast.  Intermittent fasting (IF) is intended solely for it’s health benefits, which can be significant.  I am a strong proponent for spiritual fasting as well, but that is a topic for another post

This week, I followed the “East Stop Eat” program, which simply put, is two 24-hour fasts each week.  I did mine on Monday and Thursday.  Now, I know what you are thinking, especially if you’ve never fasted before…”No way I could do that!”  It actually wasn’t so bad.  I finished my normal dinner on Sunday night around 6:30, and then didn’t eat again until Monday night at 6:30.  Obviously, the goal is “0” caloric intake, so I drank LOTS of water, and a couple of cups of coffee with no calorie sweetener.  I definitely felt the urge to eat, but it wasn’t so bad.  Chewing sugar free gum and drinking flavored water helped.  I did the same routine again starting Wednesday night.  I didn’t change anything else about my diet on the non-fasting days.  So in effect, I cut my caloric intake by 28% for the week, and still ate what I wanted (within reason) 5 days out of the week.  The hardest part was to not binge when breaking the fast Monday and Thursday nights.  Drinking lots of water before eating helped that too.

Surprisingly, my exercise didn’t suffer at all from the fasting.  I expected to feel tired and sluggish during the fasting days, but that was not the case at all.  I did my strength training on Monday, immediately after breaking the fast, and felt pretty good throughout my workout.  On Thursday, while fasting, I achieved the best time to date on my morning bike ride!

On a side note, I changed a small part of my route today (Friday) to meet up with a friend, misjudged a turn, and ate a curb at about 10 mph.  It was glorious!  I am very grateful for the soft grass I landed on!

So, while I think it is too early to say anything definitive about IF after only one week, it certainly shows some potential.  I felt great, had less guilt about eating, and reduced my caloric intake for the week.  In addition, I was more productive at work, and saved a few $$ by not eating.  Although I still track it, I am not putting much emphasis on my actual weight any more.  According to the program I’m following, IF should result in losing a pound or so each week of body fat.  Since I’m doing strength training 3-4 times each week, I know I’m adding muscle mass, which will offset some (if not all) the body fat I lose.  The scale shows I have actually gained a pound since last Friday, but I know I’m healthier and stronger, so I’m not sweating it .

Any way, here are the numbers for the past month:

Today

Last Week

Difference

Total

Weight:

212 lbs

211 lbs

+1 lbs

-16 lbs

Body Fat %:

Not Measured

19.75%

N/A

-0.85%

Well, that is it for me for this week.   How about you?

The “Friday Fitness Recap” is part of the Fitness Friday Blog Carnival going on over at PursuingYahweh.net.  Check out the other posts from this week by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

