Friday Fitness Recap

Welcome to the 6th installment of my fitness recap!  Thanks for stopping by!

As part of my effort to create margin in my life, I’ve taken a bit of a hiatus from blogging over the past month, but it’s good to be back.

Over the course of the last few months, I have proved to myself that classical dieting doesn’t work, at least not as a way to maintain a healthy weight.  I am beginning to see (for me at least) that what does work, and is sustainable is living a lifestyle of eating healthy/moderately and exercising regularly.  It’s not glamorous, but it works!

When I initially went “off” my diet, I re-gained about 5-6 lbs .  However, I stuck to my plan, and continued to simply eat healthy, smaller portions, and avoiding late night snacking.

Of course eating habits are only part of the picture.  The other key is regular exercise.  I have revised my fitness regimen as well to make it a little more balanced.  I bike about 5-6 miles two to three times during the week, and at least one 10+ mile ride on the weekend.  On the off days, I have been doing light strength training (sit-ups, push-ups, curls, etc…).  I have also started logging my riding using dailymile.com.  This has turned out to be a great motivator for me.  If you run, bike or swim, it is a great training tool (and it’s free!).  I am also looking for some ways to vary my exercises to avoid plateaus and boredom. (any ideas?).

So how’s it all working out?  Overall, I am pretty happy with my progress.  As of today, I am back to the weight I was at when I quit my diet, and I have dropped my body fat percentage to under 20%.  All that with some “splurging” during the July 4th weekend thrown in tells me that it’s working.  It has been pretty nice that friends and co-workers have noticed as well.

Any way, here are the numbers for this week:

Today

Last Week

Difference

Total

Weight:

212 lbs

215 lbs

-3 lbs

-16 lbs

Body Fat %:

19.75%

20.1%

-0.35%

-0.85%

Well, that is it for me for this week.   How about you?

The “Friday Fitness Recap” is normally part of the Fitness Friday Blog Carnival going on over at PursuingYahweh.net, but Patrick is taking a break this week, so this is it!

One thought on “Friday Fitness Recap

  1. way to go, bro…i am finding that the gym and tennis are working for me. i have also been using myfooddiary.com. it is not free ($9/mo), but it is the best site i have found for tracking calories, especially if you eat out. Way to go! from your stats, it looks like you are doing really well.

Leave a Reply

