Friday Fitness Recap

Welcome to week 3 of my fitness recap!  It’s been a busy week, but very productive for me.  Anyway, thanks again for stopping by.

Well today is day 30 of my “30lbs in 30 days” experiment.  It has been good for me, but tough as well.  One thing I have found is that, the older you get, the harder it is to lose weight.  As I said in my first “Fitness Friday Recap“, when I was 30, I was actually able to lose 30 lbs in a month (by only changing my diet).  Now that I’m closing in on 40, that same diet plus exercise have only resulted in about half the weight loss as before.  Nevertheless, I am happy with my progress.

After a month, I’m getting pretty burned out on this diet, so now I am going to make a few changes to my diet plan.  Basically, breakfast and lunch won’t change.  For dinner I’m still going to cut out sweets/sugar, but other than that I’ll just control how much (and how late) I eat.  It’s all about lifestyle change anyway, right?

I’ve mixed up my exercise routine this week by adding some strength training to my regimine.  For now it is just push ups, sit ups & curls.  I’m thinking about getting a family membership to the local YMCA this summer as well.  This is not about bodybuilding.  It is really about flexibility and tone… and I just want to be able to work in the yard without being sore for two days!

So here are the numbers for this week:

Today Last Week
Difference Total
Weight: 214 lbs 217 lbs -3 lbs -14 lbs
Body Fat %: 20.1% 20.6% -0.5% -0.5%

Well, that is it for me for this week.   How did your fitness week turn out?

The “Friday Fitness Recap” is part of the Fitness Friday Blog Carnival going on over at PursuingYahweh.net.  Check out the other posts from this week by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

