Friday Fitness Recap

Having been inspired by a few other bloggers out there, I have decided to chronicle my efforts to lose weight and get in shape here on my blog.  Hopefully this will accomplish a couple of things:

1.   Hold me accountable to stick with the program

2.   Maybe encourage/inspire others to do the same.

This journey for me actually started about a year ago, when I realized at 244 lbs, that I had to do something about my weight and overall health.  I didn’t do anything drastic, just started cutting back on sweets and sodas, and started eating smaller portions (most of the time).  Over the course of the last year, I lost about 12 lbs.  Actually, I lost close to 20lbs, but, but gained about half of it back since we moved to South Carolina last October.

A few weeks ago (4/22/09), I decided it was time to get serious about losing weight.  On that day, I tipped the scales at 228lbs.  I set a goal for myself to lose 30 lbs in 30 days.  That may seem a little aggressive, but having done it before on this diet, I thought it would be “no big deal” to do it again.  I have quickly found though that one doesn’t lose weight as easily when you’re pushing 40 as when you are 30!

In addition to the diet, I have also added exercise to my daily routine.  Since Saturday, I have been mountain bike riding every day, and I am up to about 4 miles, which takes me 25-30 minutes.  It has been tough given that I am out of shape, overweight and haven’t ridden a bike since college!  In another week or so, I plan to cut back to riding 3-4 days/week, and add some strength training to the mix on the off days.

So what has this gained me so far?  Actually a lot.  So far, I have lost about 7-8 lbs, which is short of my original goal of 1 lb/day, but enough that I can feel the difference.  A week into the daily exercise, I am still sore, but to be honest, I feel great!  Getting up at 4:45am every day to ride is no fun, but it is worth it to feel more energized the rest of the day, and  to sleep better at night.  I have also cut my caffeine intake in half (down to 1 or 2 cups of coffee/day now).

So stay tuned if your interested, and I’ll update you every Friday on how I’m doing.  Also, I’d love to hear about your fitness journey as well.

The “Friday Fitness Recap” is part of the Fitness Friday Blog Carnival going on over at PursuingYahweh.net.  Check out the other posts from this week by clicking here.

2 thoughts on “Friday Fitness Recap

  1. Kit,

    welcome to the journey and thanks for jumping in on Fitness Fridays! I hope we can all encourage and hold each other accountable along the way.

    I look forward to seeing what God will do. Imagine if all church leaders would commit to life change that is not only spiritual, but physical as well! whoa.

    hang in there man. See you next week!

    -BP

Leave a Reply

