Positive Post Tuesday

This is my first P-P-T post, and I have to say, I love this idea!  This week it is being hosted by Annie.

Today, I want to take a moment to say how thankful I am for my kids.

I have four children, Johahna &  Christian (ten-year-old twins…who hate to be lumped together like that), Michaela (eight) and Zachary (three).  I love them all dearly, and they bring more joy into my life than I would have ever thought possible before.  The funny thing is, I have very recently realized that I don’t let them know that often enough.

As a man with a lot of “irons in the fire”, much of my interaction with them (especially during the week) boils down to making them do stuff (cleaning rooms, homework, stop fighting, take out the trash, etc…) and disciplining them when they don’t.  I hadn’t thought about it in those terms before, but this weekend I saw it clearly.

We had a bit of a “Family Day” on Sunday (something we haven’t done in several months).  Near the end of the day, Michaela commented that it was the happiest she had seen me in a while.  It shocked me to hear her say that, but it made me think about things a bit.  How do they see me much of the time?  More often than not, I am afraid it’s not “Loving Father”, it’s more like “The Enforcer”.

Although discipline is a necessary (and sometimes frequent) part of parenting, I think God is challenging me through my 8-year-old’s comment to learn how to balance that by not only telling them I love them, but to show it by delighting in them often.

Guys, I love you more than you know.  Thanks for hanging out with your “Old Man”!  🙂

One thought on “Positive Post Tuesday

Leave a Reply

