Spoonerisms ?

A week or so ago, I was talking with a friend of mine from work, and he accidentally said a “spoonerism“.  We both laughed about it, and it reminded me of an old sketch from the TV show “Hee-Haw”.  One of the cast members, Archie Campbell, used to tell fairy tales in this manner, and as a kid, I thought they were hilarious.

Here’s an example of one of his classisc:  Rindercella

This got me thinking about maybe finding some more of these and telling them to my kids as bed time stories.  With a little internet research, I learned about the term “spoonerism”, and found several versions of several different fairy tales.

What I have decided to do is to take the best parts out of each of the versions and combine them to make the best story possible (maybe even adding some of my own ideas along the way).

Here is my first attempt at a longer version of “Rindercella” pulled from about four different versions plus a few ideas of my own:

Rindercella and the Prandsome Hince

Let me know what you think.  As I complete more, I’ll post them here.

Update (01/29/2008):   New Post!   The Pee Thrittle Ligs

Leave a Reply

