Sunday Setlists #26 – The Search Continues…….

NOTE:  This post is part of the Sunday Setlist Blog Carnival Extravaganza going on over at FredMckinnon.com.  Check out the other worship service re-caps from this week by clicking here.

Had an interesting experience this Sunday.  I had intended on re-visiting Northwoods Assembly which we had visited last week.  However, since three of our four children were at their, grandparents, and my wife was not feeling well, I decided to take the opportunity to scout out another church instead.

My 3-year-old son, Zachary and I visited Seacoast Church in Summerville.

The service opened up with a great praise song.  I have no idea what it was, but it sounded like a Hillsong United song.  For the life of me, I cannot remember anything about the song now, except that “Wonderful God” was in the chorus somewhere.

After that they went right into the message, which was a video cast from the main campus in Mt. Pleasant where the Senior Pastor (Greg Surratt) preaches.  The message was very good, but I had already heard it because I listen to the Seacoast podcast, and this was the sermon from the week before!

After the message, the campus pastor came up and gave an invitation for communion and prayer.  There were ministry teams down front for both.  At that point, the worship team came back up and did the remainder of the worship set.

They started out with “Lord You Have My Heart” by Delerious?, which is actually a pretty cool song for communion.  Next, they played another great song I did not know, about living our lives to serve Jesus.  I was convinced I would remember that one well enough to “Google” it later, but by the time I got home, I had lost the tune and the lyrics from my memory.  They closed the set out with a very rocking version of “How Great Thou Art”.

All in all, it was interesting, but I didn’t really feel like I “connected” there, and the whole video sermon thing was a little distracting (especially knowing it was a week old).  I will definitely continue to download the podcasts, but I doubt Seacoast-Summerville will end up being our permanent home.  Having said that, one thing I have learned in all my years walking with the Lord is NEVER say never!

Leave a Reply

