I Want to be Like Edgar!

(Originally posted 04/05/06)

A few days ago, I read something in a Christian discussion forum that I visit from time to time that blew me away. I thought I would put it down here to give you something to think about. The guy was talking about the story of Gideon in Judges chapter 6. Verse 34 reads:

34 But the Spirit of the Lord came upon Gideon; then he blew the trumpet, and the Abiezrites gathered behind him.

The footnote in the Spirit-filled Life Bible for 6:34 that states that the literal translation from the Hebrew means “the Spirit of the Lord clothed Himself with Gideon.” Think about that for a minute.

I don’t know about you, but I have never thought of being filled with the Spirit, or lead by the Spirit in quite that way. I guess I always pictured it like I was driving a car or flying an airplane or something like that, and I just let Him tell me where he wanted me to go, and I followed His directions. At my most spiritual, it may be like I let him take the stick for a little while, but I was there in the co-pilot seat “just in case”. The literal translation is quite different.

The first image that popped into my head when I read this was the scene from the movie “Men In Black” when the alien bug put on his “Edgar suit” after crashing on earth (if you’ve seen the movie, you know what Im talking about, if not you should rent it — great movie!). The more I thought about this, the more that analogy seemed to fit. Although it looked like Edgar driving the exterminator’s truck, it wasn’t. It was actually the Bug on a mission. Likewise, when we allow the Holy Spirit to fill us, it should be more like that – Him in control and us (or at least our will) totally out of the way.

My new prayer is, “Lord, skin me out like Edgar!” It doesn’t quite have the appeal of the “Prayer of Jabez”, and I doubt Mercy Me will do a song “Skin Me Indeed”, but it truly is my heart.

Leave a Reply

